Tuesday, June 11, 2013

Acclaimed Florida Author Gary Showalter Announces Upcoming Release Of Mystery Novel ‘The Big Bend’ In Audiobook Format

Gary Showalter writes in the tradition of John D. MacDonald, Elmore Leonard, James Grippando and Carl Hiassen. His novels have been called 'impossible to put down'. ‘The Big Bend’ is one of his most popular works to date

Florida author Gary Showalter has announced the upcoming release of his popular mystery novel, ‘The Big Bend’ in audiobook format. Gary Showalter’s works follow in the tradition of great mystery novelists such as John D. MacDonald, Elmore Leonard, James Grippando and Carl Hiassen.

In ‘The Big Bend’ storyline, Terry Rankin, sole proprietor of Rankin Personal Security Services in Orlando, Florida, accepts a private meeting with a potential client. Sheila Adamson is looking for a bodyguard to protect her from her abusive husband, but Rankin refuses to take the job until she begins divorce proceedings. Moments later, Mrs. Adamson is dead and Rankin is buried beneath the rubble of his house, knocked flat by a car bomb planted in the dead woman’s Jaguar. When he’s questioned by the local police, Rankin learns that Adamson’s attorney has also turned up dead, his Cadillac riddled with bullets. Suspecting there is more to these murders than a domestic dispute, he teams up with Orlando cop Cathy Diamond for a thrilling—and treacherous—adventure that will lead them deep into the heart of the Everglades and hot on the trail of a dangerous criminal.

Gary Showalter has created a new hero for fans of hardboiled mysteries. Showalter stated, “My primary goal at the time I began to write 'The Big Bend' was to give myself a reason to stay awake; I was working lots of late night shifts, and there wasn’t a lot to do, and not enough new books I wanted to read. So I started to write the kind of book I would read if someone else were to take the time to write it. It wasn’t long before I realized 'The Big Bend' could become a commercial venture. I put about two years into researching, writing and editing each novel because I want people to enjoy them and remember them. Now, with the upcoming release of the audio book version of 'The Big Bend' in the middle of July, my novels will become available to even more people, and that is a very exciting thought. The audio book version will be available through Amazon, Audible.com and iTunes.”

'The Big Bend' has achieved a 4 star rating on Amazon with 121 reviews. Recent Amazon reviews stated, “Very good book, well written, kept moving.” and “I really enjoyed the story & look forward to reading all of the books in this series.”

In addition to 'The Big Bend', Showalter is also the author of 'Hog Valley', 'Twisted Key' and 'Lonesome Cove'.  He has been described as a master of descriptive writing, with excellent character development, tremendous scene description and short, punchy action scenes. Gary Showalter writes with a wry, sardonic sense of humor, and his work treats romance as it should be; lightly, gently, and with a quirky understanding of the tender side of human nature.

The audiobook version of 'The Big Bend' will be available mid-July 2013 at Amazon, Audible.com and iTunes. Gary Showalter is available for media interviews and can be reached using the information below, or by email at gary@garyshowalter.com.

All of Showalter’s novels are available in both print and electronic versions at Amazon.com and Barnes and Noble. 'The Big Bend' will be available in Kindle version for .99 cents June 14 and 15 on Amazon at http://amzn.to/13PC2bd.  More information is available at his website at http://www.GaryShowalter.com.


Gary Showalter was born in Honolulu, Hawaii. He lived in Aruba, Florida and the Panama Canal Zone before joining the U.S. Army during the 1960s. He served in the Israel Defense Forces Reserves for sixteen years, and when not on active duty he worked in government and private security. He has also served in senior management positions in two software development companies in Israel.

During his time in Israel, Mr. Showalter published articles dealing with international terror and the Israel-Arab conflict in the Jerusalem Post, Israel national News and several political science web sites.

Mr. Showalter returned to the United States in the fall of 2003.


Gary Showalter