Friday, July 9, 2010

Local Author And Attorney Ronald S. Barak Releases Legal and Political Thriller, A Season For Redemption

Written in the tradition of authors such as John Grisham, A Season For Redemption is a riveting legal and political thriller with a plot ripped from today’s headlines. Murder, mayhem, political corruption, a broken and corrupt political system, politics, ethics gone awry, intrigue and mystery all find a place in a book that can only be said to be eerily plausible

Ronald S. Barak announced today the release of his new novel, A Season For Redemption. Barak’s storyline manages to deftly blur the lines between fantasy and reality. The book is a legal and political thriller that features the murder of prominent politicians, a broken, corrupt political system, prevailing shady ethics, intrigue and mystery, all wrapped within a framework that is so realistic as to appear to be taken directly from today’s headlines – or perhaps from tomorrow’s.

“I’m an avid reader, but dislike books that take too long to get started, bog down along the way or fail to deliver at the finish,” stated Mr. Barak. "I enjoyed writing A Season for Redemption because I enjoyed reading it.”

Barak’s work has been referred to as a blend of John Grisham, Dan Brown or Agatha Christie and Jerry Seinfeld, Ray Romano, Jon Stewart or Dave Barry. Though Barak’s plotlines are intense, gripping and engaging, his wry sense of humor always manages to peek through the dense cover of the intrigue and mystery.

The murder of three highly visible politicians causes a panic on Capitol Hill. Many believe the corrupt politicians had it coming. When businessman Cliff Norman is arrested, Washington DC breathes a sigh of relief. However, Detective Frank Lotello suspects Norman's involvement is but the tip of the iceberg. During his relentless Columbo like investigation, as the murder trial presided over by wily veteran trial judge Arnold Lambert threatens to tear apart the very fabric of the country, Lotello turns up surprising links deep within the White House and Judge Lambert wrestles with the question of whether the murder of corrupt political leaders can actually be defended on the grounds of justifiable homicide? Lotello races to uncover the truth of this remarkable case before the jury reaches a verdict that may alter the course of U.S. history forever.

“I’m as apolitical as they come,” said Barak, “but no responsible, caring American today can help but be totally dismayed by the widespread abuse of trust on the part of our political leaders on both sides of the aisle. Crafting this piece of fiction, I’ve had to race at full speed just to keep up with, let alone stay ahead of, the hard to believe stories being written on a daily basis by those who dare to call themselves our representatives."

A Season For Redemption
Ronald S. Barak
Ganderhouse Publishing
ISBN: 978-0-9827590-1-1


Ronald S. Barak is the author of several prior legal publications and an Order of the Coif Law Review Editor. He graduated from the University of Southern California Law School and has practiced commercial law, mediation and arbitration for some 40 plus years. Ron resides in Pacific Palisades, California with his wife, Barbie, their cat, Maccabee, their dog, Ryder, and his golf clubs, where he is hard at work on his law practice, his next novel and his golf game, not necessarily in that order.

Mr. Barak is available for interview and can be reached using the information below, or by email at Recent interviews can be viewed at A Season For Redemption is available in hardcopy, paperback, digital format, including Kindle and iBooks, and can be purchased on all customary online bookstores, including,, and

Additional information is available at:, and


Ronald S. Barak