Monday, October 6, 2014

5th Annual Book Awards Contest, '50 Great Writers You Should Be Reading', Voting Open To The Public

The 5th annual contest, sponsored by The Authors Show, offers authors of fiction books, nonfiction books, Christian books and children's books an opportunity to be chosen as one of '50 Great Writers You Should Be Reading'

Don McCauley of the Free Publicity Focus Group and Danielle Hampson of The Authors Show have announced that voting for the 5th Annual '50 Great Writers You Should Be Reading' Awards Contest is taking place now. The 5th annual awards contest has been opened to public voting.

In keeping with the tradition of creating maximum publicity opportunities for the works of both published and self-published authors, this year's contest has been carefully designed to maximize public awareness for authors. Finalists will be chosen by public vote which will be backed up by the show's ongoing publicity campaign.

Entrants will submit a 1000-word essay about their journey to becoming an author, how that journey has impacted their lives and will present the author's body of work to the public. Finalists and winners will be chosen by public vote, based on the essay submitted.

Winners will appear in the print and electronic versions of '50 Great Writers You Should Be Reading', which will be available to the public through online book outlets. Finalists and winners will appear on a dedicated website,, with headshots, book covers and links to the author's website.

Contestants in this year's awards contest include:

Connie Allen
Claire Applewhite
Sarah L. Blum
Patrick Brigham
Pamela Bush
Reginald Canon
Eva Caye
Anika B. Connage
Maria Daddino
A. W. Daniels
M. J. Domet
Tom Donnan
Cheryl Dorsey
Karen D. Doughty
Heather Eaton
Nancy Hartwell Enonchong
Kellie Fitzgerald
Linda Maria Frank
Frances Fuller
Jeannette Gagan
Linda Heavner Gerald
Dr. Mary M. Gillam, Col (ret.) USAF
Sully Grand-Jean
Daryl Hajek
Sharon Hamilton
Edward Hancock II
G. R. Holton
Emeka Iwenofu
Yvonne Jones
K.. D. Keenan
Val Newton Knowles
Darlene Laney
John William Law
Leila Lynne Leidtke
Patricia Lyon
Richard L. Madison
Josh Mathe
Grace Mattioli
Jeffrey Allen Mays
Vincent McCrudden
Dr. Sherry L. Meinberg
Dawn Nelson
Bishop Sheldon D. Newton
Virginia Nosky
Tonia M. Oldham
LaRae L. Parry
Sylvia Patzold
RG Bud Phelps
Lori Plegge
Kathy Porter
Leah Pugh
Richard .A. Reale
P. A.  Rees
Anne Redelfs
Sigrid Fry-Revere
Tinika Ross
Ginger Simpson
Stella Stafford
Deborah Stevens
Karynne Summars
Stanley S. Thornton
Jacquitta Toney
T. Wrage
Anthony Wright
Henry B. Zimmer

The contest is open for submissions. Authors and writers who wish to participate can find information on the contest at The Authors Show site.

The public is invited to read submissions and vote for their favorite entry on the contest page at the Authors Show site at


Don McCauley is a marketing strategist and is the facilitator of the Free Publicity Focus Group, a marketing and publicity firm. He also serves as the host of The Authors Show Radio.  Danielle Hampson is the Executive Producer of The Authors Show radio group of programs and is the CEO of KDResources Inc.

More information is available by visiting The Authors Show site. Questions can be addressed to Don McCauley by email at don (at) or Danielle Hampson at danielle (at)


Don McCauley
Free Publicity Focus Group

Danielle Hampson
The Authors Show