Wednesday, October 22, 2014

Author Brinn Colenda's 'Chita Quest' Named As Finalist In New Mexico-Arizona Book Co-op Awards

In the tradition of WEB Griffin, Tom Clancy and Bernard Cornwell, Brinn Colenda writes military themed novels that reflect military members and their families thrust into extraordinary circumstances

Author Brinn Colenda's newest release, 'Chita Quest', has been named as a finalist in two categories in the New Mexico-Arizona Book Co-op Awards. The book placed in both the adventure/drama and mystery/suspense categories.

"I am delighted," Colenda stated, "at the number and variety of awards my books have won recently. They represent a wide and varied audience which is very gratifying and something that most authors dream about. The Florida Authors and Publishers President's Awards for 'Chita Quest' were in two categories, action/suspense and cover design. The Military Writers Society of America silver medal in the thriller category was the second major award for 'Cochabamba Conspiracy'. And 'Chita Quest' is currently named as finalist in two categories, adventure/drama and mystery/suspense, by the New Mexico-Arizona Book Co-op Awards to be presented in late November. It's very exciting."

Thriller books, especially military fiction, are Brinn Colenda's specialty. He is committed to creating international works of fiction that are character-driven with dynamic, well-developed plots. His works are based on real-life people and experiences. 'Chita Quest' brings a sense of realism to his work that is seldom seen in the military thriller genre for good reason – he has been there. Colenda spent 20 plus years traveling the globe as a pilot and a political-military officer.  Colenda’s work has also garnered awards and notice from SouthWest Writers and the Military Writers Society of America.

"I started writing my action thriller, 'Cochabamba Conspiracy', shortly after leaving a tour of duty in the U.S. Embassy in La Paz, Bolivia," Colenda stated. "Later I turned that book into a series with the publication of 'Chita Quest'. Both novels are international thrillers with political and military undertones. Both feature U.S. Air Force Colonel Tom Callahan and his family and associates. The characters are all fictional, products of my fevered imagination and composites of people I had the pleasure (or misfortune) of serving with during my twenty-plus years in the Air Force."

Reviewers have raved about Colenda's work and in regards to Chita Quest have stated, “an exciting blend of military intrigue, political suspense, travelogue, and romance - riveting flying sequences and chase scenes - Colenda brings expertise to real characters and fast, intriguing plotting - a thrilling adventure - (a) blend of political intrigue and family values - Colenda is a master storyteller…”

Brinn Colenda is available for media interviews and can be reached using the information below or by email at All of Colenda's works are available at Southern Yellow Pine Publishing. More information is available at his website at

About Brinn Colenda:

Brinn Colenda's works are based on real-life experiences. Those experiences were broad and varied including flying missions in South East Asia, an exchange instructor pilot with Britain’s Royal Air Force, commander of an USAF overseas base, Chief of the Air Force Section of the Military Group in the U.S. Embassy-Bolivia, and a Defense Fellow at the Hoover Institution at Stanford University.


Brinn Colenda