Wednesday, March 11, 2015

Frances Fuller, Author Of ‘In Borrowed Houses’ Takes First Place In '50 Great Writers You Should Be Reading' Book Awards

Frances Fuller was chosen from a field of hundreds of authors who appeared on The Authors Show Radio in 2014. Frances also took the Bronze Medal in the Illumination Book Awards in the Memoir category. 'In Borrowed Houses' details her years in Lebanon during the Lebanese Civil War

Frances Fuller, author of 'In Borrowed Houses,’ took top honors in the '50 Great Writers You Should Be Reading' book awards. Winners will appear in this year’s edition of the awards book. Frances was chosen as the result of her appearance on The Authors Show Radio. She also took a Bronze Medal in the Illumination Book Awards.

In the tradition of books like 'Out Of Africa' and 'City Of Joy,’ Frances Fuller's memoir offers readers a glimpse into day-to-day life that is completely unlike the experience of most Americans. 'In Borrowed Houses' details her years in Lebanon during the Lebanese Civil War.

“I am honored,” Fuller stated, “to be chosen for these awards from among so many good authors with valuable books.  And I am happy that right now, when horrors out of the Middle East dominate the headlines, I can offer readers a more human and hopeful view by sharing stories about ordinary people in Lebanon, that microcosm of the Middle East so critical to the world.”

In Lebanon, a country fragmented by war, the Fullers are house-hunting, because they have a job to do — publishing Christian literature in the Arabic language. The house they find is mostly a heap of rocks, Frances thinks, but Wayne has visions of turning it into a beautiful and comfortable home. Meanwhile the Syrian occupation, an Israeli invasion, the bombing of the American Marines, artillery battles, car bombs and kidnappings impact their lives.

Told in short episodes, Fuller’s book reveals the alienation, confusion and courage of civilians in civil war, introducing to the reader a variety of real people with whom the author interacts: editors, salesmen, neighbors, refugees, soldiers, missionaries, lawyers, shepherds, artists, students. With these people she works, studies, plays games, prays, laughs and cries, all to the accompaniment of gunfire. Together these small stories tell what war is like for civilians caught on a battlefield, and they create the impression of the Lebanese as a fun-loving, witty, patient and resilient people. They also compose, not a political history, but a historical document of a time and a place.

Critics have praised  ‘In Borrowed Houses.’ A judge in the 22nd Annual Writer’s Digest Self-Published Book Awards called 'In Borrowed Houses' “…a well written book full of compassion…a captivating story…”. Another reviewer described the book as “Wise, honest, sensitive, funny, heart-wrenching…”. Colin Chapman, lecturer in Islamic Studies at the Near East School of Theology in Beirut said, “….western Christians and Middle Eastern Christians need to read this story…full of remarkable perceptiveness and genuine hope.”

Frances Fuller is available for media interviews and can be reached using the information below or by email at Fuller's book is available at Amazon and other book retailers. More information is available at her website at

About Frances Fuller:

Frances Fuller spent thirty years in the violent Middle East and for twenty-four of those years was the director of a Christian publishing program with offices in Lebanon. While leading the development of spiritual books in the Arabic language, she survived long years of civil war and invasions.

Frances holds degrees in Journalism, Creative Writing and Religious Education, and she studied Arabic at Georgetown University. She and her husband, James Wayne Fuller, live now in the foothills of the Sierras in California. They have five children, ten grandchildren and two great grandchildren.


Frances Fuller